Pond Boss
Posted By: KCKyle can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 11:52 AM
I searched around quite a bit but could not finding any info on how to test water for safe swimming. I may just not understand the search function. I have zero experience with pond management but have a property under contract. My kids are going to want to swim and I just want to be sure the water is safe. We had a story in the news a while back about a child that died from brain eating amoeba.

I would love some advice on water testing options.

Thanks
Posted By: Dave Davidson1 Re: can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 11:58 AM
I'm not qualified to give advice on something like that. However, there are places to have water tested for safety and/or purity.
Posted By: dlowrance Re: can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 01:50 PM
The Naegleria fowleri amoeba can be as far north as you are - there is a lake in Minnesota that had it back in 2010 - so yes it's possible.

Nose clips are the best preventative other than staying out of the water, on the very off chance your BOW has the amoeba.

See this article for more info:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/natio...rasite/3633531/
Posted By: BrianL Re: can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 03:01 PM
I have swam in lakes and ponds my whole life, and never worried about or had an issue. The risk of drowning are 1000s x higher than death by amoeba, but everyone must determine their own risk. JMO
Posted By: RC51 Re: can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 03:36 PM
Yeah man growing up we didn't have no swimming pool. It was any and all lakes that had a dock!!! LOL.... I wouldn't want to get into a hot stale no water moving pond in the summer but some folks do.

This has "It All Depends" written all over it!! smile

RC
Posted By: Zep Re: can I safely swim in my pond? - 07/20/16 03:39 PM
Brian....I guess the risk of this is super low too...but after it appeared in the Wills Point newspaper a couple of weeks ago..it made me think...lol