Pond Boss
Posted By: roymunson Fish food recommenation? - 04/04/22 02:17 PM
I have a 3 acre pond freshly stocked with 2-3" perch last fall. I have a broadcast feeder I'm going to use. Any tips on what food to put them on? I bought them feed trained. This pond also will have some 4-6" SMB that are feed trained too. Would like to feed them both if possible. I'm a total noob at the feeding game.
Posted By: jludwig Re: Fish food recommenation? - 04/04/22 05:16 PM
The two fish foods that are recommended here are Purina's Aquamax and fish food from Optimal.

Resource guide has both: https://www.pondboss.com/Resources?lid=274&lci=22
Posted By: Snipe Re: Fish food recommenation? - 04/04/22 05:54 PM
Originally Posted by roymunson
I have a 3 acre pond freshly stocked with 2-3" perch last fall. I have a broadcast feeder I'm going to use. Any tips on what food to put them on? I bought them feed trained. This pond also will have some 4-6" SMB that are feed trained too. Would like to feed them both if possible. I'm a total noob at the feeding game.
Find out what they were trained on.. Start with that and make a slow transition to Optimal. The Jr Feed from Optimal was engineered based on YP. I assume when you say perch, you mean perch and not Bluegill? Either way I would go the same route.
Posted By: Theo Gallus Re: Fish food recommenation? - 04/05/22 01:16 AM
I'm curious - does Optimal put Bob Lusk's picture on each bag?
Posted By: anthropic Re: Fish food recommenation? - 04/05/22 01:33 AM
Originally Posted by Theo Gallus
I'm curious - does Optimal put Bob Lusk's picture on each bag?

Not the last bunch I bought.
Posted By: roymunson Re: Fish food recommenation? - 04/05/22 11:30 AM
correct
Originally Posted by Snipe
Find out what they were trained on.. Start with that and make a slow transition to Optimal. The Jr Feed from Optimal was engineered based on YP. I assume when you say perch, you mean perch and not Bluegill? Either way I would go the same route.