Pond Boss
Posted By: Mark Brown ESS13 For Leaking Pond - 07/15/06 10:14 PM
I had a new pond that was dammed in August of 2005, that has never filled up. I just had a report by an environmental company that said it should of filled up by April of 2006. It is a 2 acre pond with an average depth of nine feet and 40 acres of drainage. The closest it has ever come to full pool is 42 inches from the top of the overflow.

I was given an estimate to line the pond with ESS-13, including draining and reseeding for $63,000. The pond cost $50,000 to build.

The pond is the focal point for a house I plan to build so I have to fix it one way or the other. I can not sell the property or start building until this is resolved.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: newpondguy Re: ESS13 For Leaking Pond - 07/15/06 10:52 PM
Im new at this and im in the same situation. But I would say this, If you can drain it and find the leak and fix it. you havent lost much time.
It kind of matters if your trying to raise blue ribbon bass. I have a problem with seeping under the dam + drought conditions here in Bama. Down about 30 inches. We have put about 2 1/2 tons of bentonite in and will be getting more but finding the leak is kinda hard ya know. But its all good, my wife says im sexy with a shovel.
Posted By: Bruce Condello Re: ESS13 For Leaking Pond - 07/15/06 11:27 PM
Here's a start, Mark.

http://www.pondboss.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=2;t=000044;p=1

Welcome to the forum.

Bruce
Posted By: Mark Brown Re: ESS13 For Leaking Pond - 07/16/06 12:24 AM
The dam is not leaking. I think our soil is very porous. Not sandy though. I am wondering if i should try the ESS, try an alternative or wait a year to see if the pond seals itself.

I just wish I knew for sure what the fix is. The builder is very experienced and says to be patient but the water budget from the consulting firm indicates the pond will always be deficient.