This is a really long post - sorry. Don't get me started.

I do Geothermal. In response to Brettski's request I am posting re:geothermal heating and cooling. I have been an HVAC contractor for over 25 years and we put our first geothermal system in about 22 years ago.

Some of the prior information is good, some not. A geothermal system first of all is not really geothermal - technically. A true geothermal system would be one that uses heat from deep in the earth, like the hot springs in Wyoming. A more accurate description is Ground Source Heat Pump. Not as sexy, but more accurate.

As Country Boy pointed out there are 2 types commonly installed - open loop and closed loop. Open loop is also known as "pump and dump". Open loop extracts water from the ground - then either absorbs heat from it or rejects heat into it - then dumps it. Closed loop systems circulate water (with antifreeze in it) in a closed loop in the ground. The water leaves the house and the fluid either absorbs heat or rejects heat depending on if you are heating or cooling.

All of my experience is with closed loop systems. Around my part of Ohio, it is not unusual to have problems with water quantity and/or water quality. If the water has iron and other stuff it it, maintenance of the water pumping apparatus is an issue. If you do not have enough water in gpm year-round, the system will not perform properly. We like closed loop because we avoid those issues. Not saying they won't work - I am guessing maybe 10 or 20% of installed systems are pump and dump - I just do not have any experience with them.