Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
pacepecante, moukie, BlowNdoh, Rogue Rose, GEltingNe
18,606 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,145
Posts559,940
Members18,607
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,756
ewest 21,554
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,212
Who's Online Now
4 members (Brev, Theo Gallus, Chadsnider, kswaterfowler), 770 guests, and 207 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
R
OP Offline
R
Hello all! I am new to having "a real pond." I have a small koi pond at my house that I've had for several years and overall that one has been easy peasy. I recently purchased this land and restored this pond. When I bought it it was all choked out by grass and willow and you could barely even tell there was once a pond here. I hired someone to dig it out and this was the natural color of the pond after he dug it out this spring:

[img]https://ibb.co/dk7Hn8c[/img]

The contractor let it fill up to see how it would hold, then we waited for it to drain and he "fine tuned" it by grading it and smearing some of the blue clay that we found here along the sides. He built a runoff using boulders that were once here. Pond is from an artesian well/spring and is constantly running.

Since the contractor has done the fine tuning, the pond has been muddy and is no longer thel aqua color. It's probably been about 2 or 3 weeks since it was finished. We had to wait a bit for it to fill back up and start flowing. Now it has been flowing for 2 weeks. This is what it looks like now (sorry only photo I have is of a mule shoe I found with the water behind it:

[img]https://ibb.co/T0BpLNW[/img]

Some of my questions are:

1) will it eventually return to the aqua color from the winter or is this only going to happen in winter/spring?