Part of the problem is that building a pond is a rather specialized field. It involves WAY more than just owning a backhoe or bulldozer and knowing how to use them!

Soil conditions -- especially PI index & clay composition -- are a vital consideration to proper pond construction. The core trench must be built well, or nothing else matters. Potential leaks must be recognized and dealt with on the site. The emergency spillway must be carefully constructed to handle extreme rain events without causing erosion. And so much more...

There are tons of folks out there who can move dirt, but knowing the ins and outs of pond building is another matter altogether.

I'm only a wizened veteran of exactly one pond, but I've been incredibly blessed to interact with TWO awesome pond constructors: Mike Otto (who needs no introduction here) and Mike Smelley, a dirt guy who operates out of Marshall, TX.

Mike Otto clued me in to the fact that the property's major selling point, a red clay hill, was in fact full of sand and iron. Very low PI, totally unsuitable for pond construction. After looking for six years, this was not news I wanted to hear about a pond property I desperately wanted. cry

Mike O didn't quit there, though. He came back with a local backhoe operator and dug some test holes down near the creek bottom. Lo and behold, glorious gray/white clay!!! grin Thanks to Otto, I went ahead and bought the property. Mike, I really appreciate your time & effort to help a stranger!

Otto's schedule was too full for me to hire him to actually build the pond, though. The realtor recommended someone he knew had a reputation for hard work, competence, and integrity: Mike Smelley. (Don't know why guys named Mike make such good dirtmovers...)