Welcome AW,

Originally Posted By: Alpha Wolf
What I'm interested in is Crappie, which is a rather common fish in the area where I live. Unfortunately I don't find a great deal of concise information about them here. Any pointers? (search turned up a whole host of posts, but only where crappie are mentioned second-hand or as 'pest' fish).

Currently I've got an 11 acre mostly-swamp in the 'bottoms' (as they call it around here) I hope to eventually work into some sort of lake, though I'm just starting out on that epic journey. I finally subbed to PB so I can start my edumukation.

By far, the majority of us here have ponds that are less than a few acres. As a consequence, most of us who have crappie, have similar experiences with crappie. Mine, for instance, are OK. I've got big crappie. But, they are not something I can go out and fish for, and hope to bring some back to the kitchen. Defending our PB postings, I think many of us would like to successfully grow crappie. They just don't do very well in small waters, and are always a lurking potential problem when they are in a pond. In my years here on the forum, I can't really remember anyone reporting great success with crappie in small ponds. We'd welcome some positive experiences.

If you can somehow get 11 acres of water available to growing fish, I think you'd have a very good chance of successfully growing them.

Originally Posted By: Alpha Wolf
Been lurking on PB for a bit of while now, reading, listening, and watching and I've come to the conclusion that the only important fish is the LMB.

Personally I don't care for them, or catfish so much when it comes to actually going out and fishing for them specifically.

Fodder (BG, Crayfish/shrimp, shad/shiners, talapia??), controls, depths of water body? Hopefully something that can sustain itself once introduced.