My humble 2 cents:
You can raise BSFL in a barrel with lots of holes but you would need to assess your needs. I have one of those barrels and at first it was great. I'm new to composting and I'm not embarrassed to say, I’m not very good at it. When I found the BSFL and figured out what they were I was pretty happy. They made quick work of all the cantaloupe waste we had and a lot of other stuff and I don’t have to worry about putting anything else (i.e. grass clipping or whatever else you’re supposed to put into it) into it and no turning! It wasn’t until I put a hot water heater pan under it that I got serious and also started to have problems. My herd is not as extensive as it once was and I’ve been loosing a lot of tiny larvae into the water. The adults are easy to get out because of their weight the little ones are like trying to catch tiny pieces of Styrofoam, it’s next to impossible. Next time I go to town I’m getting a turkey baster.

This barrel system is not very efficient. It was okay when I was just looking to compost kitchen waste but now that I’m harvesting them it’s another story. I’ve been plucking these little darlings out of the water one and two, sometimes three, at a time. It’s a pain and time consuming. I do this morning and evening. I tried putting some ramps on the inside of the barrel but alas they prefer going out the holes. To those of you who are handy with being able to design things and then to be able to make them, I’m jealous!

Last night a frog jumped into the water so I’m supposing they’re steeling my larvae. If it’s not one thing it’s another with this system.