Jeff,thanks for the response, I feel your pain, or should I say I am trying to keep from having to feel your pain. My hay and animal situation is totally separate from my pond. I was just making a comparison.
I too am just a normal everyday guy with a pond, trying to make the right decisions. I have no where near the pond knowledge that some of the people on this site have, that is exactly why I am here. I am sure these people realise that everyone here is not a pond expert. The trivial and redundant questions to them are often earth shakers to the novice.

My pond is 20 years old and I try not to interfere with it.I do not feed the fish or have aerators. It kind of does its own thing. It is full of fish including,catfish,crapie,BG,Bass,
perch,Koi (size of small submarines), and just about every other pond related animal you can think of, except beavers and musk rats. This may be the wrong approach to ponding but it has worked out so far,or so I believe. I subscribe to the school of,"If it ain't broke don't fix it!". But here in lye's the problem, you first must understand the definition of broke,which in regards to ponds, I am learning is not a clear cut defintion. That was the origination of my post Southern Naiad good or bad? I do not know just how much,or what kind of vegetation is supposed to be present. This makes it extremely difficult to define broke. Iam steady sucking up the info. though to assist in the definition.