To Pond Pros and Mad Scientists alike,

I am so grateful for the information that is shared on this board. Not being a real pond pro, I do not post frequently, but enjoy this forum immensely.

Construction has begun on a new 2 acre pond, and I am looking forward to incorporating many of the ideas that I have gleaned from this board. I am fortunate to live in an area where the NRCS provides great service to those considering ponds on their sites. I involved them in two ponds a few years ago and was very pleased with the results. The first ponds and the new pond are watershed ponds and were created by building a dam across a draw in hilly land. The same engineer has designed this new pond as well.

In the earlier designs and in the new design, the ponds include a 6" through the dam overflow pipe with two anti-seep collars and trash guard. In addition, the ponds have 1 1/4" inside diameter perforated PVC stand pipes that have a shutoff valve on the outside of the dam for stock watering or draining water from the pond. In addition, there is an emergency spillway above the overflow pipe so that if the overflow pipe could not handle the outflow, then water could exit via the emergency spillway.

My question is this. Do I need the standpipe in addition to the overflow pipe and emergency spillway, or are there other ways to draw the water down if needed? The engineer says that this feature is optional, and they will approve the pond either with or without the stand pipe system.