We are downsizing. Have had a blast with my pond. Have some lessons learned to share. For first 20 years, no problems with algae or weeds. Last 5 years though I've had to intervene. We've always had lots of geese- hundreds of them. It got so bad you could not walk around pond. I finally figured out the source of my problems was the geese and the goose poop adding too much nitrogen and phosphate . I have been keeping them at bay for last 2 years and it's making a difference. There is no silver bullet to cleaning out the pond, it has taken several years. Here's what I have done:
1. Keep geese away - I used to mow and string trim to edge of pond. Geese like that! They are lazy and can walk right in and out. I now leave a 2 foot unmowed strip around pond so there is no easy access

2. Algae and weed control - every year brings different weeds and algae, I think geese bring them in. A few years ago I had two types of pond weed take over! Never had seen it before. I used two aquicides/herbacides. Hydrothol and Prevent. Hydrothol is fast acting and worked within days. Prevent worked also. I have consistent outflow during rainy periods and the quick acting Hydrothol worked great. The Prevent is slow action and takes a couple of weeks but works well. I use it later in summer when outflow has stopped. I do have some u opened I will sell now that we are moving. I'll put me email at the bottom of this post

3. Manual weed/algae removal - I use a rake to manually remove as much algae and weeds as I can. Just killing it and leaving it in pond adds more nitrogen to pond and it comes back worse

4. Goose light - this away with geese blinking goose light has worked for me. Keeps geese away at night. Have found company stands behind their product. It stopped working last year. I called them and they sent me a replacement no questions asked