Originally Posted By: playsomehonk
Greer,

Last summer I completed a 5 acre pond in an area with marginal soil, ie mostly clay but with some significant sand strata, I am not a pond expert by any means. Thankfully and I believe due to many precautions and good practices (including some my contractor argued against, like a vibratory roller), my pond is currently holding water as good as if it were lined with a synthetic liner. I am an industrial contractor with 30+ yrs of experience, including soils and geotechnical work, and I applied the practices I've learned to compacting and manipulating soil for my pond, ie making dirt hurt:-)

Here are a few items you may want to consider:

First you must have enough good clay soil on your site to manipulate over any suspect (sand, silt) areas. If your site is totally clay with good impermiablity, then you may not need to compact much if at all if its an excavated pond with no dam. If the pond is excavated and will not include a dam, its a straightforward effort. Any excavated areas not containing clay need to be cored and/or capped with good clay and 24" is a commonly recommended thickness for capping/coring.

Clay capping should be done in ~8" lifts (layers) and compacted with a vibratory pad foot roller ideally. An 8" lift of loose clay will compact to a ~6" compacted layer. Make sure the clay isnt too wet or it will "pump" and never compact.