Rick,

You need surface area/filtration for the bacteria to break down the ammonia. If you are not using media in your grow beds, you will need some sort of filter. There are many options, but i have no experience with filters and wouldnt know what to recommend.

Doing some media and some raft grow beds is a fine option and works well. However, your fish capacity is going to be based on how much filtration you have. The water is just the blood in the vessels of the system. Either way, you want your fish tank -> filtration -> then Deep water culture (fancy name for rafts). If tilapia/fry make it into your rafts they will eat the roots and kill your plants.

You may be able to grow blue talapia to plate size in one season, but if not, you will need a plan for the wintering because they are mortal below water temperatures ~45 degrees. Blue and nile tilapia require a permit to poses in Texas. I am only able to work with mozambique which [theoretically] die at 55 degrees. I will post a system a day. the 5th system is my current one and you will see that i still use some tilapia but i have moved 95% to native fish that I can leave outdoors year round. Tilapia can filter feed and help control algae/moss, but I try to discourage people from using them in non tropical zones in outdoor aquaponics systems. There's really no good reason to not use native fish that you can stock year round.

Your bacteria are a living part of your aquaponics ecosystem. If you harvest, move or lose all of your fish during the winter the food for the bacteria will stop and all of the bacteria will die. The next summer you are going to have to start over from square 1 and re-"cycle" your system.