Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,005
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
3 members (teehjaeh57, anthropic, Snipe), 947 guests, and 206 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#6498 07/16/07 09:15 PM
C
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
C
I'm referring to something like CWJ recently posted.

http://www.ponddampiping.com/syphon1.html

I have no experience with, nor have I ever seen one of these systems. How delicate are these systems to place? What is the cost vs. a standpipe? Would you recommend caps or valves? If valves, are there any particular types of valves that you have had good experiences with? When starting the siphon to drain the lake down, what type of vacuum pump is needed? Are there any drawbacks to this type of system?

I'm sure I'll think of more questions but would appreciate any feedback.

I like the fact that you would not have to have a hole through the core of the dam.

I started with nothing, and still have most of it.
B
Lunker
Lunker
B
There's nothing delicate or finicky about siphon systems. Depending on the head... the height of the pond above the outflow... they can really move some water.

When used for an overflow, a pump is not needed. A properly designed siphon will start and stop on its own at the right time.

To draw down a pond, the siphoin may need a pump assist to get it started. Any type of water pump will work, even a very small one. I used a small hand bilge pump, and it worked great. For drawdown, it's important that the pipe joints and valves are absolutely air tight. Otherwise, the siphon will slow down and eventually stop flowing.

C
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
C