Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,005
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
1 members (Willy Wonka), 803 guests, and 186 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#564534 02/21/24 07:34 PM
K
KyleR Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hello,
I'm new to this forum, and working on a pond project in my backyard. Thank you in advance for any assistance.

I am a general contractor in South Dakota. I have a small pond in my backyard, about 1/4 acre. We call it the "redneck pool" because it's just for looks and for a swimming hole. I have small kids that swim in the pond, we have some fishing ponds nearby so I don't plan to ever stock with fish. I've had the pond about 3 years now. The soil is a clay/sand mix, and the pond depth is about 10' above water table. The pond is about 14' deep, although it's probably silting in with the mason sand I've dumped there periodically for a beach.

I currently fill the pond with a garden hose attached to a well spigot. The water level drops about 4' per month, so I just fill it up. It takes about 1 week per month to fill and costs maybe $200 per month in electricity to do this. I want to fancy up the pond, do a nice shoreline, probably put in a liner, etc... I've been hesitant to put in a liner because a local child recently drowned in a pond that was lined. Not sure exactly what happened but the liner was in disrepair and either it was too slippery for him to get out or he got caught under the liner, but either way very sad and I worry about the liability. My kids know not to go out without a parent so I'm mostly worried about their friends, etc.