Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,082
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,414
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
9 members (Freg, Jared015, Justin W, LeighAnn, Donatello, Theo Gallus, Sunil, homewardbound, DenaTroyer), 729 guests, and 217 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
Eagle26 Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hi everyone! I’m totally new to solar power but I went ahead and tried to build myself a solar powered aerator for my pond. It works but not as well as I would have liked. I’m on a pretty tight budget so I thought I could run it without a battery, but that did not work for some reason. I got a cheap 100 watt solar panel kit from harbor freight that came with its own charge controller. Then I added a Blue Diamond ETA 80 pump and an inverter. The charge controller would not work without the battery, but even with one, the pump only ran for a few hours and then would have to charge again. Do I need more solar panels? Or should I have a smaller pump? Or is there a way to have the solar panels power the pump instead of just charging the battery? My pond is about a half acre and around 8 ft deep in the center. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
B
I am not very knowledgeable about solar systems. I am also looking to setting up a solar aerator. You pump is probably adequate. I suspect your battery is too small or too few of them. What type of deep cycle battery do you have and how "big" (capacity) is it?