Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
3 members (Layne, Angler8689, anthropic), 616 guests, and 135 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
OP Offline
D
Hi . I joined the forum to learn from others experience. I have 25 yrs of reef tank experience but not much freshwater and certainly no large pond / small lake experience.
I feel the need to try and improve the water on my slice of Boles lake, North Texas.
The lake has water flowing in and out depending on how much rain we get.
The lake seems to be about 10-15 acres .
Looks like my area is only 4 ft deep but gets about 10 ft deep towards the dam on the neighbors property.
The lake has about 4 ft of soft muck on the bottom and is getting excessive nutrients from run off , so the water plants are choking the water.
This part of Texas is heavy clay.
I bought a 1 HP Gast piston compressor. Rated at 5.3 cfm.
50 ft 3/4 sinking hose and a 12 inch matala diffuser .
Question : how much should I space the diffuser from the bottom to minimize causing turbidity?
My hopes are to get the muck around my dock to decompose and if I can it would be great to have my efforts reduce the seasonal fish kill.

In my novice opinion, you should look at the whole bow when sizing an aeration system. My fear, in your situation, is that an undersized system may only bring up dead (potentially toxic) water. A rule of thumb is that a system should turn all the water over in one day. Less than that and you are just mixing bad water with good water and making the good water worse.

Fish on!,
Noel
D
OP Offline
D