Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,050
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
2 members (Rainman, Bobbss), 284 guests, and 147 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#489978 05/12/18 07:54 AM
F
Flame Offline OP
OP Offline
F
This is my first year to experience FA on my pond. This spring I got about a 3-4 ft line of it all around the 2 acre pond. Bright green in color but very ugly along the bank. Pond had been at full pool for quite sometime because of all the rains here in East Texas. Now the pond is dropping and has come down near a foot. Most of the FA has been left high and dry on the banks and has turned yellow. My question is...does it actually "die" once it goes dry or does it just go dormant until water comes back over it again? So should I try to "clean it up" while it is on dry land? Probably should know this but first time and just want to keep it controlled.

Dear Alcohol, We had a deal where you would make me funnier, smarter, and a better dancer... I saw the video... We need to talk.
Flame,

FWIW...I think it dies but I pick it up anyway. I figure picking it up removes the nutrients that fueled it the first time around so they don't return to the pond when the water rises again. On my pond it will dry to a very fragile thin brown "shell" so I pick it up while it is still moist and easier to handle.

[Linked Image]
Be Brave Enough to Suck at Something New!
J
J
I found that a sharp pitchfork works well to pick up dried FA.