Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,962
Posts557,969
Members18,502
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,148
Who's Online Now
6 members (Sunil, DrewSh, Donatello, Omaha, Shorthose, Rick O), 1,160 guests, and 289 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#488076 04/02/18 01:59 PM
M
markey Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Newbie here. Trying to get some suggestions from the experts on how to improve water quality and reduce muck in our pond. We have a 1/2 acre, 40 year old wooded pond in central PA that has a lot of muck in the bottom and develops a red tint in the summer that severely reduces the clarity. The pond is spring fed with an average depth of 4' and a max depth of 12'.

We have been using a de-muck aerobic bacterial product for 5+ years with little luck. From what I have read on this site it sounds like aeration will help...any recommendations on an aeration system?

Thanks!

R
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
R
Welcome markey! I hate to say it, but using aerobic bacteria without aeration was a complete waste of cash. Aerobic means it needs oxygen, and without aeration to circulate your water, the detritus on the bottom is completely devoid of dissolved oxygen.

Aeration would be the single best and most cost effective investment you could make for your pond. Expect to spend around $2000 for a quality system...you can DIY them, but savings are usually vastly exaggerated, do not include dozens of hours building, cost more per KWH to operate, and often do not function as hoped.