Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
1 members (anthropic), 750 guests, and 227 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
DRG Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Being a rookie I really appreciate all the input that comes from this site. It is an awesome resource! Hopefully one day I can help someone rather than just ask questions, but for now Ill stick with the questions.

quick summary 3/4 acre 10+ foot deep at its deepest avg 6' pond just in south east Texas. In Dec I put 250 2-3" CNBG 100 3-4" red ears and 15# of FH minnows. I was planning on ladder stocking HSB as my sole predator this fall. I feed 2x daily cargill triton pellets. I am working on aeration right now but it is not in place yet.

My goal for the pond is to grow some bigger bluegill and fun fishing for my Girls (and myself). I had not planned on incorporating LMB and I do not want catfish in the pond.

I was going to wait till the fall to put HSB in the pond then stock maybe 15 4-6" fish this year then 15 next year and 15 the following for a total of 45 over 3 years.

Is this enough predators to keep the CNBG in check and healthy? I would imagine that the CNBG I put in the pond in Dec will be able to reproduce this spring and summer, Am I in risk over overpopulating the pond with CNBG the first year? Do I need to put the predator in now? Someone suggested on another post that the HSB may not be enough to control the CNBG do I need to have some LMB as suggested? I was trying to eliminate having another species that I had to manage for, but the health of the pond is more important so...