Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,072
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,411
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
15 members (JasonInOhio, Shorthose, H20fwler, Requa, Justin W, LeighAnn, Bob Lusk, catscratch, Freg, DenaTroyer, Blestfarmpond, Snipe, RAH, Rick O, bstone261), 805 guests, and 192 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#480843 10/09/17 07:24 AM
K
Kenn Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hello:
I am new to using forums, and new to ponds. I live in NE Kansas and am putting in a pond (its not done yet, probably next week) it should be about an acre and 10-12 feet deep. I have not seen any YP since moving to KS. There is a lot of discussion about YP working in ponds but I have not seen anything this far south. A local fishery thinks I might not be deep enough for them to get big. It seems there are others growing them in 10ft of water, does the heat here change anything? Would I be wasting my time trying to grow them?

E
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
E
Welcome to PB. YP should work in Kansas and can withstand your common summer temps. Good water quality will help.

From FishBase

North America: Atlantic, Arctic, Great Lakes, and Mississippi River basins from Nova Scotia and Quebec west to Great Slave Lake in Northwest Territories in Canada, and south to Ohio, Illinois and Nebraska in the USA; south in Atlantic drainages to Santee River in South Carolina, USA.

Temp to 30C = 86F.

Last edited by ewest; 10/09/17 10:24 AM.

B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
B