Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96, flowindustrial, ksueotto58
18,481 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,786
Members18,481
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,140
Who's Online Now
5 members (Bucyrus22B, JPierson, Boondoggle, esshup, Theeck), 986 guests, and 202 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
OP Offline
J
I'm building small pond in a small valley in North Carolina and the dam is 20 feet wide at its base and now it's about 10 feet deep. I need it to be about 5 feet taller but it's too narrow at the top to drive my skid steer across. In fact I've fallen off of it in my skid steer twice.
How can I make it wider at the top?

S
S
Well I am no expert and don't take my word for it, but if it were me and I wanted a taller dam I would start at the bottom and build the bottom wider and move upward with a wider base.

If you want the slope safe to mow the steepest I would go would be a 3 to one slope and better yet a 4 to one slope. So for a 10' tall dam the bottom would need to be 40' wide plus the width you want the top to be. So if you want a 10' wide top you would need 40+10=50' wide base for a 4-1 slope on a 10' high dam. 90 feet wide base on a 20' high dam. That is a lot of dirt.

Hope this helps but do not take my word for it. Contact your local government NRCS agent and he might be able to help or at least give you a publication on dam building considerations. It is easier to do it right the first time compared to doing it over after it is done incorrectly and fails.

Not to mention falling off a dam with a skid steer loader is a good way to get yourself killed. Skid loaders are not very stable on slopes. Likely not the best piece of equipment to be using.