Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
1 members (anthropic), 750 guests, and 227 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
K
Kirk B Offline OP
OP Offline
K
So, I am new to Pond Boss and new to pond management. Last summer I put in a pond at my home away from home in Ohio. I stocked it this spring with the Zett's new pond package. Everything appears to be going good but I have some questions to see if it could be better. On my last visit I noticed that the little BG appeared to be making nests and trying to spawn. This surprised me. I have read suggestions on keeping some big bull BG in the pond to encourage smaller BG to focus on growing in order to compete with the larger dominant fish. Should I consider putting in a few mature BG so my small ones do less spawning and more growing or will this upset the echo system that was started with the new pond stocking package?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Kirk

J
J
I put about 20 mature BG in (mixed sexes) last winter, after first stocking fingerlings (1-2 inch) in mid autumn. The big bull BG made most of the nests, but spawned with big females and small ones alike this past spring. I didn't see any of my stockers making nests, only the mature BG.

K
Kirk B Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Thanks for the info John. I can't wait to hear other inputs. I will be out there over the 4th and have considered putting in some big BG. The reality is that once they are in I cannot take it back so I want to do it with both eyes wide open.

Kirk

B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent