Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,900
Posts557,086
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,414
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
10 members (Augie, IND1371, dg84s, Brandon Larson, Dave Davidson1, Fishingadventure, PRCS, Sunil, Theo Gallus, BillyE), 766 guests, and 285 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
OP Offline
S
I'm a complete noob to managing ponds and am struggling to determine the best way to aerate our HOA's retention pond system. Map of ponds attached, but the pond forms a rather thin "U".

The East and West arms are connected by a culvert on the South end. Additionally, the entire south end is very shallow (1-3' max). We'd like to dredge to get to 4-6' prior to adding aeration. The rest of the pond is probably 3-6' deep other than corners on the north end.

Let me know if any additional info is needed. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Attached Images
Pond Map.jpg
What are the goals for the ponds?

Fingerling
Fingerling
Here is what I would look at doing:
-get a depth profile of your ponds
-electrical availability, help determine type of system you can run
-as stated by Bocomo, Goals (clarity, aesthetically appealing, fishing)
-distances of runs to diffusers from will determine what type of system or (s) that you may need to use (just from looking at it probably 2 systems and I would want compressors near the middle of the ponds)
-do you mean to DIY or turn key system

Bill Cody and rest of the guys will add to this list and give you more suggestions. This is a main start

laugh
Good land management is an extended learning experience-Aldo Leopold
S
OP Offline
S
Thanks guys.