Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,788
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
3 members (catscratch, Steve Clubb, Boondoggle), 1,154 guests, and 196 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 12 of 12 1 2 10 11 12
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
The EPA and corps of enginners already officially regulates small streams, tributaries, and wetlands in my state. How is this anything new?

As a fish farmer I have limits on waste discharge from my farm, and I sure can't dig up wetlands.

Quote:

"The new rules would have forced landowners to get a permit if they took steps that would pollute or destroy the regulated waters connected to larger bodies of water downstream."

Sounds like a good thing to me. People discharge raw sewage into the local river and we have feed lots on a few lake inlets. One inlet to a lake that is on the largest undeveloped lake chain in the state sits on top an old landfill. When we get heavy rain that part of the lake turns brown. This is a formerly 93 foot deep lake that supported lake trout, native cisco and smelt. The cisco and smelt are gone.

We have lake residents that seem to need golf course lawns. I wonder what they do to get them?

The State is slow to respond due to the tremendous power of the Farm Bureau and lack of funding. The DNR's hands are tied. Maybe it's time the feds came in and ruffled some feathers.

Last edited by Cecil Baird1; 08/27/15 10:04 PM.

If pigs could fly bacon would be harder to come by and there would be a lot of damaged trees.

T
T
Originally Posted By: Cecil Baird1