Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,962
Posts557,975
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,148
Who's Online Now
7 members (Sunil, catscratch, jludwig, sprkplug, canyoncreek, gehajake, STG), 1,146 guests, and 335 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
pondpal Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hello! I am a newbie to this forum and to ponds in general, and I need some advice. I have a question about sharing our irrigation pond with our neighbor. First a little background...

We have a small cabin in Central Oregon on 5 irrigated acres. We are there only part-time, a few weeks out of the year. We have an irrigation pond on our property, but the neighboring 5 acre property does not. We have new neighbors there who moved in a couple of years ago. They have been using their house water instead of irrigation water, and I think it has been very expensive for them. They are asking to share our irrigation pond with us instead of installing their own pond. We have not yet discussed anything with them beyond this request.

Sharing irrigation would require the expense of combining our system with theirs. A few years ago the system was combined but then legally and professionally separated when the then 10-acre property was legally separated into two 5-acre properties. The cost to separate the systems was expensive, around $5000.

Of course I want a good relationship with our neighbors, but I have a few concerns about this arrangement and wanted to run this scenario by anyone here who has experience with this. Has anyone shared their irrigation pond with a neighbor? Has it been a good outcome and/or have there been any unforeseen issues?