Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand, Jward87, Kanon M
18,498 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,945
Members18,499
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,145
Who's Online Now
5 members (Theo Gallus, Lake8, KenHorton, Dave Davidson1, FishinRod), 1,099 guests, and 462 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
OP Offline
J
I am new to PB and have been reading posts for a while and haven't found one that is like my situation yet a lot similar but not it. I bought an old cabin on a private 25-30 acre pond two years ago in west central Georgia. I fished it when I was a kid and it was great. Lots of big healthy large mouth and big BG. somehow someone put a few buckets of black crappie in and they took off. The pond had a lot of weed in it (duck weed and other assorted grass) then someone got a great idea to put 100 carp in every year for 5 years. great now I have a pond that is full of small bass I do catch a great one every now and then but not like it once was and all the crappie that have taken over are small like so small as I don't even want to clean them because it’s not worth it. The brim doing great, all sizes with some really good ones. WE have tried to catch every crappie we can as well as taking out all the small bass. to date we have take out sever thousands and haven't seen a difference in the size of the crappie or the bass for that matter. I have taken out a lot of the carp and the ones that are left are over 70 lbs and should die off soon I have a buddy that is bring his bow fishing rig out and handle the rest. I have thought about putting some large flat heads or tiger musky in to eat all the crappie and smaller bass out I also have access to some large chain