Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
2 members (Dave Davidson1, jpsdad), 719 guests, and 204 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
JulieD Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I'm a newbie pond owner. I have a small pond, about 1/2 acre, with some catfish and minnows. I'm not sure exactly what kind of catfish I have, but I think I have a few types. I've had the pond for about 7 months now and all was fine until recently I noticed the water would look a bit dark at times, kind of like it was muddy. And today, about 20 catfish are dead on the surface, with a few that are moving. We feed the catfish once on a daily basis and have a pump that circulates the water. What could be causing the fish to die? What should I do?! Please help! Any info is much appreciated!

D
Lunker
Lunker
D
Julie, there are no absolute answers without a professional analysis of the water. Are the fish that are still moving coming to the top to get air? If so, it sounds like a dissolved oxygen crash. You say that you have a pump to circulate the water. What kind of pump and where does it circulate from and to? If you are picking up water from the bottom and bringing it to the top, you may be forcing low oxygen water to the top. If you're just moving the water from one place to another, you're really not accomplishing much. Others might be better at answering this.

You might have too many fish for the size of the pond. Or possibly some sort of disease.

You are better off using an oxygen pump for aeration. Look at the thread on this site to learn more about aeration.

B
Lunker
Lunker
B