Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
2 members (anthropic, esshup), 743 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Very exciting project man! Not being an aeration expert, my question is how much air does it take thru one diffuser in 4 feet of water operating 7 hours every 24 to open a decent size hole thru the ice everyday in 0 or below temps? To me, that is the minimum output your system needs to provide, regardless of whether it is 1/8 or 1/4 pond. My guess is no one is going to give a definitive answer to that question cause there are way too many variables. I would be very careful thinking you can reduce speed to save pump life unless you are sure you have plenty of air flow at the reduced speed to get er done! smile

Edit: For the Southern boys that don't get much ice, that might be an easier number to come up with and a different story.

Last edited by Bill D.; 03/01/15 09:24 PM. Reason: Clarification

[Linked Image]
Be Brave Enough to Suck at Something New!
F
F
If you run the pump 1/2 speed for 7 hours versus full speed for 3.5 hours, which way uses more energy?

M
mnfish Offline OP
Hall of Fame
Lunker
OP Offline
Hall of Fame
Lunker
M
Originally Posted By: Bill D.