Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,962
Posts557,958
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
8 members (gautprod, catscratch, Omaha, Theo Gallus, Lake8, Sunil, J. R., FishinRod), 1,382 guests, and 424 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
OP Offline
B
Hello everyone,

I am completely new to the entire process of managing a pond but have been trying to implement some changes to a pond that my family owns. I guess I will begin with the structure of the pond and then go into the problem we are having in hopes that you all can help. I am located in northern Illinois and the pond is an old rock quarry that measures 11.5 surface acres and is 40ft deep at its deepest point. There are drop offs and shelves at various depths, its not just a deep bowl. As you can imagine the bottom surface is mainly sand and rock. There is very little if any submerged vegetation and almost all of the structure consists of old fallen trees along the shore line which have broken down extensively. The pond is fed by natural springs and also their is a nearby river that seeps through the ground as the pond level fluctuates with the river level. The water is VERY clear all year long.