Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
4 members (Brandon Larson, Blestfarmpond, Layne, Angler8689), 634 guests, and 143 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#386040 08/27/14 10:49 AM
L
OP Offline
L
I bought a property in Central Virginia that has a 3.5 acre pond that I'm still learning about as I try to learn more about pond management -- I'm definitely a novice.

I'm told the pond was stocked. But, I can get little information about how.

I have noticed that I have 6 pretty large grass carp. When I put out food pellets for the blue gills the carp come in like vacuum cleaners and gulp down everything they can. Maybe not surprising, I don't have a vegetation problem. But, are these number of grass carp too many for a 3.5 acre pond?

Hey Love2Fish, sounds like a nice place and would love to see pictures!

On the GC, I stocked a recommended 8 in a 2 acre pond 2 years ago to help control Coontail and Chara so I don't think 6 is overkill in 3.5, but are you sure that's all you have?

I too no longer have the vegetation issues/problems I once did but the GC are now HUGE! But I also don't know if they're eating pellets. If I knew they were I think I'd want them out but other than that I don't know if they're causing any problems.

There should be some experts chiming in soon.

Keith - Still Lovin Livin

https://youtu.be/o-R41Rfx0k0
(a short video tribute to the PB members we met on our 5 week fishing adventure)

Formerly: 2ac LMB,HSB,BG,HBG,RES
D
Lunker
Online Content
Lunker
D