Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
2 members (Dave Davidson1, jpsdad), 719 guests, and 204 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#385233 08/17/14 11:12 PM
K
OP Offline
K
I am brand new to pond ownership! I'm looking forward to the possibilities with this small pond. It's about 1/3 acre in area. I am going to close on the property next month and I'd like to get a head start on managing the pond. Right now there is no aeration system. From what I've heard from guys I work with that have ponds of their own, aeration keeps the pond from stagnating and becoming basically toxic. There are no fish in the pond and no liner. The current owner dug the pond about 8 years ago. He uses rain water from his home downspouts which run through PVC underground and into the pond and also has an outlet on the lower ground side which allows excess water to run out if the level would get too high. The pond has a max depth of about 12 feet and a very gradual taper. I would guess average depth is between 4-5 feet. The pond looks like the water has fairly good water color/quality. They also have aquatic plants on the deep side which they told me helps to filter the water. I am wondering if the current set up with water coming into the pond when it rains would be sufficient to maintain a good quality water and/or able to sustain a small bluegill/perch/bass population for recreational fishing with my kids and some swimming. There are a pair of ducks that have taken up residency on the pond. I'm sure there's more info you might need to give advice but any/all is much appreciated!