Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,005
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
1 members (Willy Wonka), 803 guests, and 186 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#384490 08/08/14 03:52 AM
B
OP Offline
B
Hi all,

First off, great forum, I've certainly learned a lot just by lurking around here.

I need a bit of advice, I'm new to this whole pond building business but plan on building 2 ponds on my property.

The first should be pretty straight forward, before I bought the property they mined sand on one section which formed a nice little gully if I can call it that. From what I can tell they reached the water table and abandoned the operation. The sand is about 3' deep and then you reach clay. I haven't had it analysed yet but it doesn't crack when it dries out and it sure as hell holds water. They made a "sort-of-spillway" to try and drain it so I'm thinking just close it up and it should fill.

The second is a natural depression very close to the quarry, they had the quarry drain into this depression so it's always under about a foot of water. Because the topography is fairly flat this turned into a useless marshy area. The surrounding area also seems to drain into this depression so I'm sort of stuck with it. There is a small ditch that leads onto my neighbor's land to try and drain it but it hasn't been very effective from what I can tell.

The soil is the same clay as above.

So according to me, step one would be to dam the quarry and construct a spillway into the depression. Step two would then be to dig out the depression a bit more and build a dam all along my fence line.