Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,900
Posts557,095
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,415
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
15 members (Sunil, jpsdad, azteca, esshup, BillyE, H20fwler, FishinRod, Augie, PRCS, LeighAnn, bstone261, LANGSTER, dg84s, ewest, Fishingadventure), 694 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
OP Offline
S
Newbie here, first post. Thank you in advance for any help provided. We have an old farm pond about 3/4 acre in size. having talked with some of the old timers from the area our best guesstimate on age would be 90 plus years. Many of the old timers can remember swimming in it as kids. I don't believe the pond itself has had any maintenance or dredging. We get the runoff from several neighbors yards but no fields or anything. I believe the depths may be 7-8 feet in the middle. Most the banks have just a slight grade. The last couple years we have had problems with some sort of algae that I have tried to control with copper sulfate and raking. We had a large fish kill about 5 years ago and during that we lost some of the grass carp. Also 3 years ago many of the ponds in central Illinois got duckweed, ours included. I used Sonar to get rid of it. I have attached a couple pictures of the algae we are getting. I have also attached a picture of a rake I made. It is a pretty crude looking think. I used two sections of 1 1/2" PVC, a 5' and 7' sections. I attached the two sections with a "T" then drilled holes every 6-7" in the 5' section. I then used 1/4" carriage bolts 8" long as the tines. I also used several strands of wire twisted together to stabilize each end of the "rake to the handle. Since most the