Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96, flowindustrial
18,482 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,788
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
9 members (Bill Cody, Snipe, Dave Davidson1, FishinRod, Bucyrus22B, Rangersedge, JPierson, MidwestCass, catscratch), 1,060 guests, and 194 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
OP Offline
J
Can someone please recommend what I should do to stop this in its tracks?

Here are some photos of the slime.
What is it?

J
OP Offline
J
Anyone?

Got to be someone here who has seen this before.
aeration may take care of it.

S
S
Looks like filamentous algae (FA) to me but I'm no algae expert. I see you have no rooted weeds. The algae is using the nutrients available in the water.

Last edited by snrub; 05/24/14 06:57 PM.

John

I subscribe to Pond Boss Magazine
J
OP Offline
J
Well thanks for all your help.

I really appreciate it.
All the responses were so wonderful I just don't know what to do.
All one of them.

thanks again.
I'll figure it out.

R
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
R
Jason, then "one" reply answered your question, it IS FA, Filamentous Algae. Copper based products will kill it, but unless other plants are in the pond to use the nutrients, the algae will just recycle in decay and regrow.

Try putting in some submerged and marginal plants along with grasses around the pond to filter out inflowing fertilizers when it rains.

R
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
R