Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
macman59, jm96, flowindustrial, ksueotto58, John Folchetti
18,480 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,782
Members18,481
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,505
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,140
Who's Online Now
8 members (CentexSaj, Augie, catscratch, wps456, teehjaeh57, Shorthose, Tinylake, Fishingadventure), 1,077 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#358751 12/01/13 09:22 PM
C
OP Offline
C
I am new to pond management, I have a small pond(in the attached picture)that is about 7 feet deep at the deepest. Currently it is so full of algae that no respectable species of fish can be stocked. I have tried poisoning the algae and the pond is too small to be issued a carp permit. As of now it has a large population small bluegill which would make good forage for any species. From what I've deduced from my reading on this forum is that bullhead catfish are generally frowned upon but they have do eat a fair amount of algae. Could stocking bullheads at a low rate be making the best of a bad situation? Bear in mind I'm on a small budget here. Input would be appreciated!

Attached Images
photo (1).JPG
Last edited by Culummills123; 12/01/13 09:45 PM.

I'm a bullhead sympathizer, deal with it. smirk My pond is in
Hamilton, Texas.
E
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
Hall of Fame 2014
Lunker
E
Welcome to Pond Boss. What did you treat the pond with ?

Manual removal would be a good start as that will remove some of the excess nutrients bound up in the plants. What type of equipment do you have access to ? Also have the soil and water tested.

C
OP Offline
C