Greetings Pondmeisters!

Here is my situation: I am a newbie that has read a fair amount of the material on Pond Boss AND I subscribe. I have much yet to learn! My pond is approximately one acre that is about two years old. I had the shallow end dug out last fall (again). This combined with the incredible drought of the past two years had me with a lot of bare red ground (weathered shale I'm told) and thus some pretty turbid water. I have a two diffuser Vertex system in place running twenty four/ seven.

I fertilized the first year and had really nice water. last year I didn't and had some FA issues. This year we have had double the annual rainfall so far and very turbid water. I now have a very good stand of Bermuda most everywhere but still some runoff but its much better. I didn't have too much of an FA problem when the water was extremely turbid. On July 13 I added some polymer logs in an attempt to remedy the turbidity and the water color has changed from a red curry to a brown tea color. My water is very hard and quite alkaline (9). This is why I avoided the Alum.

As fast as the water cleared I had an explosion of FA and have floating mats on perhaps twenty percent of the pond (I know it got ahead of me!). I have acquired some Cutrine plus liquid and plan to spray the FA this week after the rain chances have passed. I am also raking out as much of the stuff as I can reach. I applied one application of the Cutrine Plus couple of weeks ago and it seemed to work. We had another big rain and the FA returned. I tried to fertilize in there and I am fearful I am now making all of this worse.