Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,070
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,411
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
15 members (DenaTroyer, Freg, Blestfarmpond, Snipe, RAH, Rick O, Justin W, bstone261, Theo Gallus, esshup, jpsdad, Bing, e_stallman, FishinRod, Augie), 761 guests, and 183 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#340208 06/20/13 07:06 PM
1812 Offline OP
OP Offline
Great to find this site.

I'm planning to construct a new pond and need all the advice I can get since I've never done this before.

My land lays well with a ravine directly down the center. The soil is primarily a thin layer of topsoil over Kaolin and red clay. The sides of the ravine are approximately 30deg so I plan to remove the trees/stumps, topsoil and then compact and build a dam.

With regards to the water overflow, my father constructed a pond about 30 years ago and used the method where a horizontal corrugated pipe is laid under the dam with a vertical leg that sets the water level and drains overflow. The pond had an emergency overflow with riprap for flooding conditions.

Since I want to use my dam as a road to access the other side of the ravine I was thinking about the same system except with concrete pipe and a manhole configuration for establishing the overflow/ water level. I can't say I have ever seen this done. Has anyone on this forum installed or seen this type system. Much of what I have seen here and surfing the net is a more active overflow spillway where I am not sure how that works when the dam is also a road.