Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,984
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,535
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
6 members (Boondoggle, Bill Cody, Bigtrh24, FireIsHot, Dave Davidson1, jmartin), 1,233 guests, and 362 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
W
W Cubed Offline OP
OP Offline
W
I have a 2 1/2 acre pond with pretty clear water. This is a new pond as of last year. We stocked CC, BG, HBG and FHM Last spring. We are now ready to stock predator fish. The supplier recommends 150 LMB and 50 black Crappie. He claims that black Crappie do not reproduces rapidly as other crappie and therefore will not be a problem. I Kamay complete novice and would like some advice on whether to stock the Crappie. Thank you,

O
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
O
Black crappie are not as bad as white crappie when it comes to spawning prolifically, this is true. However, they're still unpredictable and usually not suggested in a small pond. They're not impossible to manage by any means. If you happen to live on the pond and can manage them very aggressively, it is possible. But, I would wait. Without predators already established, I would definitely hold off on the crappie. If you were to stock crappie, I would wait until your largemouth bass can control them. That may mean years down the road when your bass average 15 inches. They would readily consume any undesirable 5 inch crappie.

Hey, welcome to the forum W Cubed. How did you hear about Pond Boss?

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ditto with what Omaha said!