Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,984
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,535
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
6 members (Boondoggle, Bill Cody, Bigtrh24, FireIsHot, Dave Davidson1, jmartin), 1,233 guests, and 362 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
A
OP Offline
A
Hello. I'm new to the Pond Boss. I signed up because I want to find some help on how to make my pond as good as possible. i do a lot of searches and research online and thought it might help to get some of your thoughts on things.

The pond is a watershed lake. It is 8 acres and can fill up to 17. The runoff on the lake is all from CRP grass pasture. There is a spillway pipe that almost always has water coming out of it. Last summer the beavers had started to dam up the pipe which did make for more water. I realize we need to get rid of the beavers and make sure they don't destroy the dam. Even at the higher water level it's still a long ways from going over the dam. We enjoyed the extra water to some extent because it put more of the trees around the bank and grass into the water seemingly providing more cover to some extent. I do not live there and am only able to fish it 5 or 6 days a year.

The pond was built in 2000 or 01. Stocked with bass, bluegill, and cats. There seems to be a few hybrid or green sunfish that I will occasionally catch. i guess these wash in from the creek that sort of feeds it. I take the sunfish out anytime i catch one. i usually catch one or 2 out of 100 fish caught.