Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Amhano8r, shores41, MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb
18,485 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,947
Posts557,814
Members18,485
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,513
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 666 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#306334 09/12/12 08:30 AM
Zep Offline OP
Hall of Fame 2014
OP Offline
Hall of Fame 2014
Has anybody had experience with aerial rye grass seeding?

I am new to all of this, but I spoke with a local guy that does aerial seeding near my property. He claims he can seed my entire 72 acres with rye grass for the winter for about $350.

I love rye grass all winter at my home in Dallas. When all my neighbors grass is dead, mine looks really nice and green. So when I heard about this aerial seeding for the lake property it sounded like it could be a good idea. It wouldn't even have to be perfect, but if it could provide some color all winter I'd might do it.

Anybody ever tried this type of thing? Pros? Cons?
Will it work somewhat even if I don't till the soil, as long as it rains?

Fishing has never been about the fish....

Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Wow. Seventy-two acres for $350! I'm assuming that is for just the plane time, and certainly does not include the seed. Even at that, I doubt you could have it done for that price with a truck or tractor - exclusive of the seed.

Having just put down annual rye and fescue, I found that the recommended broadcast rate for the rye is 20-30 lbs., per acre. I paid just over $100 for 100 lbs.

We had rain after I put it down, so the rye germinated in just a couple of days. It has been down for about two weeks and is now about 4 inches high.