Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,952
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
11 members (LeighAnn, Bobbss, Jambi, catscratch, jludwig, John Folchetti, shores41, Theo Gallus, Shorthose, phinfan, Zep), 1,132 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
P
Peppy Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I am new to pond ownership and would like to add an aeration system to my pond to help keep the fish healthy and clear up the water.

My pond is approx. 1.5 acres. It is very long and narrow (approx. 40ft wide in the center, 60ft wide on each end, and 400~500ft long). The center has an average depth of 3.5ft. The end sections average 5ft deep.

The bottom is covered with 4~5" of dark gray mud. The water is not too murky, but is slightly brown.

The pond is home to largemouth bass, crappie, redear, bluegill, yellow-bellied catfish, and grass carp. Most of the fish are relatively small. There are a few nice sized largemouths that I believe were transplanted into the pond.

I was thinking of putting some type of aeration in each of the larger end sections. I was thinking of using a diffuser system with a 1/4 hp vane type pump and two diffusers. I have electricity at only one end of the pond which would make installing this type of system easier.

Does this sound OK for the pond described above, or should I be using surface aeration?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

J
J