Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Kanon M, KWL, Homestead 101, Willy Wonka, gautprod
18,494 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,959
Posts557,925
Members18,495
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,533
ewest 21,493
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,145
Who's Online Now
4 members (Fishingadventure, Theeck, Augie, Homestead 101), 895 guests, and 512 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
OP Offline
B
I am very new to pond management... I have been reading as much info as I can but decided to post this question to get 100% clarification. My pond is 15-20 years old and has always had decent size bass. It does have blue gill but not sure numbers. Last year we caught bass ranging from 2-5 pounds few and far between with no little bass. This year I have only caught 2 bass over 2 pounds and several bass 6-8 inches long. I am thinking to start chunking all small bass out of pond to let big bass feed and get bigger. This is probably very simple to most of you but any info would be a huge help to a newbie.

B
OP Offline
B
I dont know if this is important to this post but it is a 1 acre pond with natural shelter. tons of minnows schooling around the banks.

Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
What are the size and species of all the fish in the pond? LMB need food that is roughly 1/4 their body length to grow well. From the initial 2 posts it seems that you don't have forage fish in there that are large enough for the larger LMB. They might be eating the smaller LMB.....

www.hoosierpondpros.com

http://www.pondboss.com/subscribe.asp?c=4
3/4 to 1 1/4 ac pond LMB, SMB, PS, BG, RES, CC, YP, Bardello BG, (RBT & Blue Tilapia - seasonal).
B
OP Offline
B