Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand, Jward87
18,499 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,950
Members18,499
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
9 members (Ponderific2024, Boondoggle, Fishingadventure, FishinRod, Snipe, highflyer, Sunil, Dave Davidson1, Angler8689), 1,082 guests, and 170 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#273080 11/02/11 05:48 AM
S
OP Offline
S
I am looking for some advice, I'm a newbie. I have 27 tilapia ranging from 2.5-8 oz in tanks. I need to increase the size of my system but I'm not sure how large I need to make it. I'm also looking for filtration recommendations, because my system can't keep up with these fish. My goal is to have a self sustaining source of good protein.

I'm also looking for advice on how to get these fish to eat pellets. They are decent eaters but very few of them will readily eat pellets. Thank-you in advance.

K
K
hey scotty.. look up aquaponics..
100 gallons of growbed (2 55 gallon barrels cut in half) will provide enough filtration to get the tilapia to about a pound each before you start running into water quality issues..
or search for RAS systems..Cecil has done some pretty neat stuff with filtration, there's a book called "Small Scale Aquaculture" that was recommended to me

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
ScottyPhilly,

Sounds like you need to upgrade to an RAS which is just a larger version of an aquarium. I would strongly recommend the book Keith mentioned. I think the best price I've seen is in Aquatic Ecosystems catalog (AES Apopka, FL) which advertises here and is on the Internet.