Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,058
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
16 members (emactxag, Ron crismon, jpsdad, Dave Davidson1, Saratznj, Donatello, Layne, Freg, Sunil, tws3, rjackson, jludwig, Shorthose, DenaTroyer, Theo Gallus, Tinylake), 656 guests, and 181 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#265157 07/18/11 08:40 PM
N
noake Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Great site- I am pretty new to all of this, but I have a nice area that I assume has no springs filling it, but rather is a runoff collection area that would make a great pond (I think).

I am betting it is about 1 acre. I have waded out and would guess it is 7-8 feet deep at best, with a mucky bottom. Some years it is high enough to shovel and skate on in the winter. Other years there are some branches and vegitation sticking up. But, the perimeter of the area has a lot of room to fill up without overflowing into property.

So- my question was---is it permissible to drill a well near the site in order to fill up the pond? Would I need to look closer at a pond liner if I wanted to do that, or just keep the well filling up the hole? I am not necessarily 100% into stocking it with fish just yet, but I would love to run a fountain/aeriator in the middle and fill it up if this seems like a good idea.

I am renting a trencher tomorrow for a few other projects (bury corrugated pipe and new LP gas line)- and I was thinking about running a length of UF direct burial electrical line down to the pond site in case this well idea will work.