Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,990
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,537
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
5 members (Bigtrh24, Sunil, catscratch, Fishingadventure, highflyer), 1,126 guests, and 476 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#256491 04/26/11 11:34 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi all,

I am new to pond boss (never posted but have been reading forum for months) and am looking to build a pond about 3-4 acres fed by a creek that runs on my land (I own 23 acres with a creek and no pond). I subscribe to pond boss magazine and own and have read “Perfect pond want one? The Creek is fed by over 9000 acres according to the NRC office. The creek itself basically is 6 inches deep but never runs dry. It can flood with rain but recedes quickly.

I have very little runoff that can feed my pond because of where I want my pond to be located. The creek is the only option for me to have the pond the size I want.

I understand with the creek I will need to run a screen as well as rocks to filter any silt and possibly a silt pond before it enters the main pond.
The issue is where I want my pond site to be feed by the creek is 7 foot higher than the creek itself. I am asking permission to dam it up (must ask DOT (bridge close to damming area) and my neighbor up stream).

If either of them tells me no then I can still "Y" off from the creek and excavate a seperate channel to the pond site and make it 15 foot deep pond that is only 8 feet full of water as worst case scenario. If they say yes should be able to have 15 foot deep pond full year round.