Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
lafarmpondguy, bmo, TanyaClick, Brian from Texas, Purplepiggies7
18,510 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,980
Posts558,172
Members18,511
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,565
ewest 21,505
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
12 members (Theo Gallus, JoshMI, andrew davis, Brian from Texas, LeighAnn, Augie, Shorthose, Sryously, ghdmd, tlogan, DPSMESA, Sunil), 992 guests, and 190 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Y
OP Offline
Y
Hello all,

My fiance and I recently bought our dream home. There is a pond on the property (described in my signature below). I have limited knowledge about what's in the pond. My neighbor, who is the previous owner's bro-in-law, says that they have put some bass in it 2+ years ago. I know that there are at least 6 nice sized catfish, because I bought some aquamax to find out if they would come up to feed. There is a huge koi in there too, it seems he hangs out with the catfish most of the time. The catfish seem to hang out at the end that is shallowest at the rear of the property. When the water was low, you could see what looked like some spawning beds in the shallow area. There are small turtles in there too. I have also seen an abundance of minnow sized fish but haven't identified them yet (working on catching one green/silver with a dark tail). Through fishing, I have only caught one bass that was about 12" long. I'm anxious to get started doing whatever i need to do to stock it correctly. What I hope to accomplish is a pond where I can harvest catfish on a regular basis, kids can catch bream and catfish fairly easily, and adults can catch catfish and bass. I contacted the wildlife and fisheries dept and they are snowed under (from the hurricanes). They suggested I catch and release until April