Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
macman59, jm96, flowindustrial, ksueotto58, John Folchetti
18,480 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,942
Posts557,765
Members18,481
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,502
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,139
Who's Online Now
1 members (Steve Clubb), 610 guests, and 254 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
2thDoc Offline OP
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
i'm new at this, so bear with me....

Central SC. 7 acre diked pond. Deepest spots are in the 10 foot range with little to no structure other than trees around the edges (many which we cut to fall into the pond), one small island, and some shallow flats to which we have added christmas trees throughout the years. There are some 4-6 foot channels throughout that were made when the dozer was in there.

2 feeders feeding dawn and dusk.

Water levels are maintained by pumping fresh water in from a creek. We used to have a netting that was supposed to help curb invasive fish, but it is no longer attached. I am aware of some invasive fish out of the creek, but have not decided to address them at this time. (only non-stocked fish we have seen/caught are mollies or whatever you yankees might call them)

Stocked with bream, largemouth, and catfish. I have been asked what kind of cats before and all i can tell you is that they are in the 6-8 pound range and eat good. i have also been asked the intial stocking amounts, but have been unable to find them.

Bream are thriving. Many in the one+ pound range. Bass are struggling. Most are 12", one pounders. I have only caught a few three pounders in the last couple of years. I have yet to catch a 2 pounder...

I am not trying to make a trophy pond