Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,132
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,422
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
12 members (Boondoggle, Sunil, Bill Cody, FishinRod, jpsdad, Augie, Jason D, PRCS, Shorthose, Brett B, Layne, Angler8689), 957 guests, and 219 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#208416 03/16/10 08:38 PM
C
Conejo Offline OP
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
C
Hi all,

First time poster, long time reader. I'm a noob to giving advice to others about their ponds, but we all have to learn somewhere, and I didn't see anything with the search tool that seemed to help, so sorry if this is a repost.

I have a small YP fishery, and was contacted by a pond-owner about a dilemma--feels RES have overcrowded LMB and CC.

THE POND...ellipse/oval 15 yr old/1 acre, about 15' avg depth in NW OH. Has proper aeration, uses Aqua-shade and a small bit of copper sulfate. Very little to no cover.

THE FISH....has no noticeable LMB of any size (under 6",) caught CC about 35lbs last year, and several hundred, possibly thousand, 1-3" RES. No minnows have been introduced to his knowledge, but has some tadpoles/frogs

He would like to introduce YP to control the RES. I offer fingerlings up to over 8". He also asked about more LMB fingerlings, which I can trap out of my personal pond.

Am I correct in thinking that the corrective measures would be:

1. Add artificial cover (Xmas trees, etc) to protect existing LMB fry/fingerlings and future YP perch immediately (placement in relation to shallows/deep?) Wind primarily

2. Add 10# FHM for base

3. 20-25 8"-10" Perch as opposed to 200 1"-3" fingerlings (Based on his budget)