Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Brian from Texas, Purplepiggies7, BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl
18,507 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,970
Posts558,046
Members18,508
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,548
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bobbss), 455 guests, and 399 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#204497 02/16/10 02:07 PM
W
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
W
Hi All,

Not being a fisheries biologist, I could use a little help here. I have family that has a 7 acre, spring fed lake in the St. George Utah area. They recently stocked it with 1500 rainbow trout. Realizing the downsides of a monoculture I suggested that he stock it with other species as well. Can anyone give me some recommendations on types of fish that would enhance the overall fishery and ecosystem?

Richard Dennis
EP Aeration
rich@epaeration.com
www.epaeration.com
(800) 556-9251

T
Lunker
Lunker
T
My first choice would be Tiger Trout, then Splakes. Get some chubs in there for forage. Have some nice hybrids available in Utah. You can also consider diploids, and sterile. But I'd try Tiger, Splake and Chubs to go with existing Rainbows.

W
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
W
Thanks pond frog,

What part of NorCal are you in? Can you recommend stocking rates?

Richard Dennis
EP Aeration
rich@epaeration.com
www.epaeration.com
(800) 556-9251

T
Lunker
Lunker
T
Outside Sacramento.